top of page

Disc 1 - In The City  (Debut LP from May 1977) (original album remastered)
A raw and powerful album that announced the arrival of The Jam, with their 18 year old lead singer Paul Weller sowing the seeds for what was in store for the future. The Jam's music at this time owed a lot to the harmonies of Motown, the energy of Dr Feelgood and early Who but with the anger of the current Punk scene. Although Weller's band was obviously headed in a different direction, this debut sits alongside the first albums by The Clash and the Sex Pistols as one of the definitive records from the era. The album includes hit single "In The City" (which gave the band their first Top Of The Pops appearance, included on the DVD), live favorite (and suggested single) "Art School" and Paul Weller's most ambitious early song – "Away From The Numbers."


Disc 2 – The Polydor Demos: February 1977
The Polydor Demos includes 11 demos made for the first album – 6 of which are previously unreleased

Disc 3 – This Is The Modern World (original album remastered)
This Is The Modern World the follow-up album, released a few months after debut in late 1977, with iconic Gered Mankowitz cover shot.

This hastily released follow-up to In The City has long been the topic of debate among Jam fans. It might not be up there with later classics such as All Mod Cons & Sound Affects but time has been very kind to this album. It clearly paved the way for the refined brilliance of the later albums which possibly wouldn't have happened without it. Includes the rousing hit single "The Modern World" and some of Weller's early introspective gems – "Life From A Window" and "I Need You (For Someone)," as well as "The Combine," a track that pointed markedly towards the next album All Mod Cons.

Disc 4 – Live 1977 + John Peel Sessions
Live 77 include the previously unreleased concert from the 'Nashville' – September 10, 1977, featuring material from the first two albums. Also features the two legendary John Peel sessions from 1977.

Disc 5 – DVD
A DVD featuring TV appearances from the likes of Top Of The Pops and So It Goes plus promo videos from 1977. Includes performances of the hit single "All Around The World" (which did not appear on either LP).

Includes stunning 144-page book, featuring new liner notes, period photos and a wealth of cuttings, reviews and memorabilia from 1977.

Five LP-style CD wallets with printed inner bags – In The City will feature the U.S. version of the LP inner sleeve, also using a Martyn Goddard out-take photo. This Is The Modern World will feature an alternative Gered Mankowitz cover image. Also includes five postcards. All housed in a 'rigid, lift-off lid' box.

Disc 1 - In The City (original album remastered) 
1. Art School 
2. I've Changed My Address 
3. Slow Down 
4. I Got By In Time 
5. Away From The Numbers 
6. Batman Theme 
7. In The City 
8. Sounds From The Street 
9. Non-Stop Dancing 
10. Time For Truth 
11. Takin' My Love 
12. Bricks & Mortar 
+ single & B-side extras 
13. All Around The World 
14. Carnaby Street


Disc 2 - The Polydor Demos: February 1977 
1. Art School (demo) # 
2. In The City (demo) 
3. I Got By In Time (demo) # 
4. I've Changed My Address (demo) # 
5. Time For Truth (demo) 
6. Sounds From The Street (demo) 
7. Non Stop Dancing (demo) # 
8. Bricks And Mortar (demo) # 
9. Takin' My Love (demo) 
10. So Sad About Us (demo) 
11. Slowdown (demo) # 
# previously unreleased


Disc 3 - This Is The Modern World (original album remastered) 
1. The Modern World 
2. London Traffic 
3. Standards 
4. Life From A Window 
5. The Combine 
6. Don't Tell Them You're Sane 
7. In The Street Today 
8. London Girl 
9. I Need You (For Someone) 
10. Here Comes The Weekend 
11. Tonight At Noon 
12. In The Midnight Hour


Disc 4 - Live 1977 + John Peel Sessions 
1. In The City 
2. Art School 
3. I've Changed My Address 
4. The Modern World 
Recorded 26.4.1977 - Transmitted 2.5.1977 
5. All Around The World 
6. London Girl 
7. Bricks & Mortar 
8. Carnaby Street 

Recorded 19.7.1977 - Transmitted 25.7.1977 
Live at the 'Nashville' – September 10th 1977 (previously unreleased) 

9. Carnaby Street 
10. The Modern World 
11. Time For Truth 
12. So Sad About Us 
13. London Girl 
14. In the Street Today 
15. All Around The World 
16. London Traffic 
17. Sweet Soul Music 
18. Bricks & Mortar 
19. In The City 
20. Art School 
21. In The Midnight Hour 
22. Sounds From The Street 
23. Slowdown


Disc 5 - DVD 
1. In The City (Polydor promo - May 1977) 
2. Art School (Polydor promo - May 1977) 
3. In The City (Top Of The Pops - Date: 19/05/1977) 
4. All Around The World (Top Of The Pops - Date: 18/08/1977) 
5. All Around The World ('Marc' - Granada TV) 
6. The Modern World (Top Of The Pops Top Of The Pops - Date: 03/11/1977) 
7. Bricks and Mortar ('So It Goes' - Granada TV Nov. 20th 1977) 
8. Carnaby Street ('So It Goes' - Granada TV Nov. 20th 1977) 
9. In The City ('So It Goes' - Granada TV Nov. 20th 1977) 
10. Slowdown ('So It Goes' - Granada TV Nov. 20th 1977) 
11. All Around The World ('So It Goes' - Granada TV Nov. 20th 1977)

bottom of page